Hi!

I hope everyone is having a great start to their summer. I know that I have! The past 2 days I have been in professional development with Christina from www.mathematicallyminded.com. What a great way to spend 2 days! I learned how to teach students to look at numbers and think about numbers differently rather than just using computations and procedures in math. I believe this will build a deeper understanding of mathematics with the students. I am very excited to use some of the strategies I learned next year. One resource Christina shared with us is www.bedtimemath.com. There is a new math problem every day to be solved at bedtime. The problems are differentiated so they are appropriate for any age and grade-level. I started doing this with my son tonight! I plan on doing the bedtime math problem at the end of every school day next year. Students will leave thinking about math. I love it!

I am going to spend the rest of my summer camping, relaxing at the beach (if it ever warms up), and checking off my to-do list. One important item on my to-do list is revamp my math curriculum. This upcoming year we are teaching without text books in our elementary school. Instead, we will be using the Common Core Standards and the resources we have gathered to help us teach the students and make sure they understand what they need to for each grade level. I have been teaching without a text book for a few years, so it won’t be new to me; however, I am still going to revamp my math curriculum especially after going to the professional development for the last 2 days. I’m very excited about the new direction our school is taking.

~Mrs. O’Bryant

